Synshorn, my first Jotunheimen peak

The view on my way up towards Synshorn which is to the left in the picture.

We’ve had a fairly cold Summer, but August has been warm. Too warm for my taste, and the dogs’. Nobody controls the weather so it wasn’t much to do about that. I was parked at Fagerstrand (near Bygdin) over night and started walking in the middle of morning, before most of the others. I hoped to get up to the top before it got too warm. I didn’t succeed as my going was slow (I seriously need to get in better shape!). But we still had a nice hike.

On our way up we walked part of the stretch in the creek we followed for most of the way. I spent some time taking photos as well as walking.

The path to the top is not marked and they recommend you bring a map and compass. So I did, but I didn’t feel a need for it as the path was well trodden and you saw the mountain top from the very beginning so it would be difficult not take a very wrong turn off the path. In fog or rain I would be more careful as there were some very steep and somewhat slippery (at least when wet) parts. But in bright sun it wasn’t a problem.

A part of the creek I followed most of the way to the top.
There was a really nice view at the top. This is about 200 degrees, but the top as 360 degrees of view.

As usual a couple of my dogs came along. My company at this hike (which was part of a trip around half of southern Norway) was Fjellbris and Polaris. I would never have driven so far as Bygdin just for this short hike. I spent quite a lot of time on it due to my lack of fitness and my joy of taking photos and taking in the view. However if you are regular fit it should take about 1,5 hours to the top and a bit shorter on the way down.

Still, being in the area I do want to go back another year, and I would like to go to a neighbouring peak; Bitihorn. The hike is a bit longer, and the peak a bit higher. Synshon was 1475 metres above sea level, Bitihorn is 1608 metres above sea level. Time will tell if I ever get there.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.